On Wednesday, 29th May, the ABSW proudly announced the winners of the 2024 Young Science Writer Award. A record-breaking 377 essays were submitted by students aged 14-16 from across the UK, marking the highest number of entries in the competition's history.

After a rigorous judging process, Jasmin Notarangelo of Musselburgh Grammar School in East Lothian emerged as the winner, earning the title of ABSW's Young Science Writer of the Year 2024. Her essay, 'Are Insulin Pumps the Future of Type 1 Diabetes Management?', stood out as an exceptional piece of investigative journalism. Jasmin's writing highlighted the inequities within the NHS and the barriers to diabetes care, showcasing her commitment to in-depth research and impactful storytelling.

Jasmin will be honoured at an awards ceremony at The Royal Institution on June 24th. Along with her title, she will receive £1000 to further develop her writing skills. Her essay will be published by the BBC, and she will enjoy a unique opportunity to spend a day at BBC Science HQ in Cardiff, alongside senior science journalists.

Alex O’Brien, vice-chair of the ABSW, expressed her admiration for the participants:

“I was really proud of all the students. The record-breaking number who entered this year, delivered such high quality of work they made it really tough for us to create a shortlist and then even tougher to pick a winner from it.”

The competition also recognised two runners-up. Anna Joby of The Swan School in Oxford impressed the judges with her essay, 'The Negative Effects of Light Pollution,' noted for its engaging writing style and well-sourced content. Lissie Marsh of The Compton School in Barnet earned praise for her essay, 'The Unseen Consequences of the Overuse of Tyres,' which offered a unique perspective on the global issue of microplastics through thorough research.

Both runners-up will receive £250 to support their continued development in science writing. The winner and runners-up will also receive a one-year Young Ri membership courtesy of The Royal Institution.

Jasmim Notarangelo, East Lothian
Anna Joby, The Swan School, Oxford
Lissie Marsh, The Compton School, Barnet

The judges were equally impressed by ten highly commended entrants, whose essays covered a wide range of topics from AI's potential to transform healthcare to the dangers of sleep deprivation. Congratulations to Aaila Ahmed, Aaron Rae, Cerys Davies, Eimaan Khan, Fatima Jamula, Harrison Alexander,  Jumana Al-Shibaany, Miranda Hume, Phoebe McIntosh, and Rimzim Baser for their outstanding work.

Maria Rossini, Head of Education at the British Science Association and a judge for the competition, remarked:

“It was a pleasure to be involved in this year’s Young Science Writer Awards, and to read through some of the brilliant entries. I was particularly impressed at the variety of topics covered, and the passion and creativity with which many of the entrants approached their essays.”

Following the successful launch of the competition in 2022, the ABSW has once again collaborated with the Royal Institution (Ri) and the BBC to promote this award. The initiative aims to nurture a passion for STEM and science writing among students aged 14-16.

The awards ceremony will take place at The Royal Institution on June 24th at 1 pm. Tickets are available, and ABSW members, judges, sponsors, winners, and their families are invited to celebrate the achievements of these remarkable young science writers.

Book now!

For more information, please contact Maisie Keogh at the ABSW: [email protected] or Robert Davies at the Ri press office: [email protected].

The Association of British Science Writers is registered in England and Wales under company number 07376343 at 76 Glebe Lane, Barming, Maidstone, Kent, ME16 9BD.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse