The ABSW Lifetime Achievement Award recognises contributions in leadership and service to science journalism or science writing, including but not limited to:

  • Championing independence and excellence in the reporting of science, medicine, engineering or technology
  • Communicating science, medicine, engineering or technology and holding them to account
  • Journalistic achievement and impact
  • Professional development of colleagues, including mentoring
  • Exemplary professional behaviour

Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award 2024 are now open. 

ABSW members should submit their nominations by emailing [email protected] by the end of February 2024.  

Please ensure you include your full details, including job title, alongside full details of your nominee including a statement that reflects on the bullet points above and outlines your nominees suitability to receive the award. 

The Award is not made every year, and was last made in 2022 to Judith Hann, best known for her work on the TV programme, Tomorrow’s World. At the awards ceremony Judith gave an inspiring speech on the hurdles she had faced as a woman in the male dominated world of science journalism in the 60s/70s and 80s.  It was clear that this trailblazer for women had inspired many in the audience to go into science journalism.  

Other Lifetime Achievement Award winners include Sir David Attenborough and Sir Philip Cambell.

See the full list of ABSW Lifetime Achievement Awards winners.

The Association of British Science Writers is registered in England and Wales under company number 07376343 at 76 Glebe Lane, Barming, Maidstone, Kent, ME16 9BD.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse