The 2024 ABSW Awards open to entry at 09:00 on January 1, 2024.  There are thirteen categories open to entry from broadcast news to specialist features.  

Entry is free to ABSW members and you can of course join to enter and gain all the benefits of membership.  For non members there is an entry fee of £55.  

The Awards stay open to entry until 23:59 on January 31, 2024.  Winners will be announced at our annual awards ceremony in June/July in central London.  

Categories available in 2024:

  • British Science Journalist of the Year - supported by the ABPI
  • Editor of the Year 
  • Feature of the Year: general audience
  • Feature of the Year: specialist audience 
  • News Item of the Year 
  • News Analysis or Explanatory Reporting of the Year
  • Steve Connor Award for Investigative Science Journalism 
  • Research Policy or Funding Story of the Year 
  • Opinion Piece/Editorial of the Year 
  • The Royal Society Audio Award  - supported by The Royal Society
  • Video of the Year 
  • The Dr Katharine Giles Award for best popular article written by a scientist or engineer - supported by the Dr Katharine Giles Fund
  • Newcomer of the Year

Find out more and make your entry from January 1, 2024

Our most prestigious award, The Lifetime Achievement Award, is not by self-entry but by nomination from ABSW members.

With thanks to our ABSW Awards Media Partner AlphaGalileo

The Association of British Science Writers is registered in England and Wales under company number 07376343 at 76 Glebe Lane, Barming, Maidstone, Kent, ME16 9BD.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse