The ABSW awards 2023 opened for entry at 09:00 on January 1, 2023.  The awards, dubbed ‘the Oscars of science journalism’, are the oldest established awards for science writing and have now been running for over 50 years. The awards reward bravery, flair and independence in science journalism setting the standards of excellence across fifteen categories.

Entries remain open throughout January 2023 with finalists announced in May and winners announced at the annual awards ceremony in June – the highlight of the science journalism calendar.  Winners receive £500, a certificate and the much coveted ‘Award winning science journalist’ mug.

In 2023 winners included Clive Cookson of the Financial Times, Helen Pearson of Nature, Sarah Richardson of Research Professional News, Alok Jha of the Economist and Philip Ball freelance science writer and author.  The ABSW’s premier award, the lifetime achievement award was presented to broadcaster and writer, Judith Hann for her exemplary record as a science journalist, mainstream science communicator and media trainer.  Previous lifetime achievement award winners include Sir David Attenborough and Sir Philip Campbell.

Categories open to entry in 2023: 

  • British Science Journalist of the Year - supported by the Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry
  • Editor of the Year
  • Feature of the Year: general audience 
  • Feature of the Year: specialist audience 
  • News Item of the Year 
  • News Analysis or Explanatory Reporting of the Year 
  • Steve Connor Award for Investigative Science Journalism 
  • Research Policy or Funding Story of the Year 
  • Opinion Piece/Editorial of the Year 
  • The Royal Society Audio Award – supported by The Royal Society
  • Science Podcast of the Year 
  • Video of the Year 
  • Stephen White Award for reporting of science in a non-science context 
  • The Dr Katharine Giles Award for best popular article written by a scientist or engineer – supported by the Dr Katharine Giles Fund
  • Newcomer of the Year – supported by The Quadram Institute

Enter Now

The awards are only possible due to the generous support of our 2023 award partners The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry, The Dr Katharine Giles Fund, The Quadram Institute, and The Royal Society. Thanks are also due to AlphaGalileo, media partners for the ABSW awards 2023.

Become an ABSW Awards partner

The Association of British Science Writers is registered in England and Wales under company number 07376343 at 76 Glebe Lane, Barming, Maidstone, Kent, ME16 9BD.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse