The ABSW announced the 40 finalists in the ABSW Awards 2024 this Thursday, May 16. Judges evaluated 312 entries in 13 categories to decide on the 40 finalists. This wasn’t an easy task, noted Martin Ince, chair of the judging panel.

“Each category had many entries that could have been deserving winners. In every format, from long-form features to brief videos, the candidates produced creative, important, and fascinating work. The awards in 2024 certainly reinforce the standing of science writing and journalism as an essential profession.” 

For those that didn’t make it as a finalist, Martin had these words of encouragement: “We hope that even unsuccessful entrants will have enjoyed the awards process, not least the interesting experience of digging out their work from 2023 and deciding which parts make them most proud”.

Martin Ince thanked the other judges for their commitment. “I am grateful to the judges for the time and effort they put into choosing the finalists and winners, especially as they are – of course – not allowed to enter.”

The ABSW Awards are open to entry throughout January each year. Winners will be announced at the annual Awards Ceremony, this year being held at the Royal Institution, London, on Wednesday, July 3.  All ABSW members, finalists, judges and sponsors are invited to celebrate the very best in UK and Irish Science Journalism at the ceremony. 

Find out more about the finalists here!

With thanks to our ABSW Awards partners: The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI), The Dr Katharine Giles Fund, The Royal Society, and AlphaGalileo (media partner).

The Association of British Science Writers is registered in England and Wales under company number 07376343 at 76 Glebe Lane, Barming, Maidstone, Kent, ME16 9BD.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse