The ABSW will run elections for the board members. As Board members serve two-year terms, not all posts are open to election each year. In 2024 the following posts are open to nomination until March 10: chair, vice-chair and two general board members

Nominations are open through an online form. Any Full or Life member may be nominated for any of the available posts by two other Full or Life members. Full members must have paid their membership in the last 18 months.

If posts are contested, voting then takes place up until the day of the AGM, Tuesday, April 16, 2024. If posts are not contested then the AGM will be asked to ‘ratify’ AKA ‘approve’ the nominations received.

The entire election process is overseen on behalf of the membership by two tellers, Andy Coghlan and William Cullerne Bown. They are responsible for checking if all nominations are valid and that the ABSW’s standing orders, as outlined in the ABSW Memorandum and Articles, are adhered to. 

All ABSW members are invited to attend the AGM on April 16, 2024, at 18:00, and every member has the right to speak and ask questions. Though, only Full members with valid subscriptions, Life members and the Honorary president are entitled to vote according to the ABSW Memorandum and Articles.

The venue is The Francis Crick Institute, in central London, but the AGM will be a hybrid event. Every member that can't attend in person, can still contribute on key matters via Zoom. Booking is mandatory, especially for online attendants.

During the AGM, the chair, Andy Extance, will give an insight into the members’ survey that took place last year and that will help ABSW guide its future decisions. He will also discuss activities such as the ABSW Media Fellows scheme, Young Science Writer of the Year Award and Editors’ Forum. Each serves the organisation’s strategic goals in new, different ways. Other items on the agenda include the UK Conference of Science Journalists, the ABSW Awards ceremony, skills workshops, and more.

If you have questions for the current Board members contact ABSW via [email protected].

The Association of British Science Writers is registered in England and Wales under company number 07376343 at 76 Glebe Lane, Barming, Maidstone, Kent, ME16 9BD.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse