There are many courses available in the UK (and beyond) on Science Journalism, Communications, Journalism and Broadcasting. Below is the ABSW’s list.

The ABSW welcomes additions, updates and other input for this directory. Just get in contact with us if you have suggestions. Contact [email protected]

Science communication degrees

Cornwall College, Newquay (validated and awarded by University of Plymouth) - Foundation Degree in Wildlife Education and Media (NB: This is a two year course with the option of a final year top-up to BSc (Hons) Applied Zoology)

University of Cambridge - Postgraduate Certificate in Practical Science Communication

Dublin City University - MSc in Science Communication

University of Edinburgh - MSc Science Communication & Public Engagement   

Hull - MSc Public Engagement & Science Communication

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine - MSc in Science Communication and MSc in Science Media Production

University of Lincoln, Lincoln School of Journalism - MA Science & Environmental Journalism

University of Manchester - MSc Science and Health Communication

University of Sheffield - MSc Science Communication

UCL - MSc Science Communication

University of the West of England - MSc Postgraduate Diploma in Science Communication

Science communication modules

University of DundeeScience Communication

University of Exeter - Science Communication 

Imperial College London - Science Communication

Keele University - Bioinformatics and Science Communication

University of Kent - Science Communication and Public Engagement

Newcastle University - Science Communication

University of Sheffield - Science Communication and Policy 

University of Southampton - Science Communication

University College London - Science Communication and Public Engagement and Specialist Tech Journalism: Advanced Analysis and Communication in Engineering and Technology

University of WarwickScience Communication

University of the West of England - Science Communication


Bournemouth University - BA (Hons) Multimedia Journalism  (BJTC and NCTJ accredited)

City University, London - MA Broadcast Journalism (BJTC accredited)

Glasgow Caledonian University - BA (Hons) and MA Multimedia Journalism (BJTC and NCTJ accredited)

Highbury College, Portsmouth - PG Diploma in Broadcast Journalism

Queen’s University Belfast - MA Media and Broadcast Production

University of Central LancashireMA Broadcast Journalism

University of Westminster - MA Multimedia Journalism (Broadcast)

University of the West of Scotland - MA Broadcast Journalism (BJTC accredited)

General journalism

Most of the entries in this section offer various courses in aspects of journalism and communications.

Birmingham City University - Institute of Media and English

Cardiff University - Cardiff School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies

De Montfort University - BA (Hons) Journalism (NCTJ accredited)

Glasgow Caledonian University - BA (Hons) Media and Communication 

Goldsmiths, University of London - Media & Communications

University of Lincoln - Lincoln School of Journalism

Nottingham Trent University - Centre for Broadcasting and Journalism

Leeds Trinity University College - MA/Postgraduate Diploma in Print Journalism

University of Central Lancashire - Journalism BA

Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen - PgCert | PgDip | MSc Journalism and BA (Hons) Journalism

Sheffield Hallam University - Communication, media and journalism

Swansea University - MA International Journalism and BA (Hons) Journalism, Media and Communications

University of Strathclyde - Strathclyde School of Journalism, Media & Communication

The Association of British Science Writers is registered in England and Wales under company number 07376343 at 76 Glebe Lane, Barming, Maidstone, Kent, ME16 9BD.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse