Other Awards

Entries are now being accepted for the 2019 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards. Entries must have been published, broadcast or posted online during the contest year: 16 July 2018 to 15 July 2019.

The contest has been open to journalists worldwide since 2015, and we want to encourage members of your association to apply. We present two awards in each category: a Gold award ($5,000) and a Silver award ($3,500). The categories are: large newspaper, small newspaper, magazine, video spot news/feature, video in-depth, audio (radio or podcast), online, and children’s science news.

The Today Student journalism awards launched on the 2nd of May 2019. It will recognise excellence in student journalism, in six categories, that include, broadcast print and visual journalism. The winner of this year’s prestigious Student Journalism Award will be offered a paid placement on the BBC Journalism Trainee Scheme while other category winners will be offered a mix of work experience and a chance to watch the programme go out.

Mico Tatalovic, Chair of the ABSW and one of the judges presented the Awards in Toulouse

Supporting ambitious field investigations focused on understanding of the climate

The French Association of Science Journalists (AJSPI) and the BNP Paribas Foundation launched their first climate investigation grant for European science journalists. The climate investigation grant was created in 2018 with the aim of supporting ambitious field investigations focused on understanding the climate, adaptation to climate change, or on different mitigation strategies. It also aims to encourage transnational, collaborative and transmedia projects. It is exclusively reserved for professionals (print, radio, TV, web...), members of a national association of science journalists, based in Europe. There is no linguistic restriction on the language in which the winning projects are subsequently published.

16 projects, 26 journalists and 14 European countries
For this first edition of the Climate Grant Investigation, 16 projects were submitted by 26 journalists from 14 different countries. The jury was very impressed with the quality of the grant proposals. It proved that science reporters from all across the East, West, North and South of Europe are finding intriguing and powerful stories to tell about climate change.

The winners were announced on July 8th, during the 5th European Conference of Science Journalists, in Toulouse (France):

EUSJA has confirmed a study trip to Berlin Science Week with the participation of the Falling Walls Conference. We are offering a fellowship for 10 journalists to visit Berlin from 6 to 10 November 2018. Science journalists are invited to attend events of the third Berlin Science Week and the programme of the Falling Walls Conference (Falling Walls Lab, Venture, Welcome Reception on 8 November and Conference on 9 November), to connect with Berlin based and international scientific institutions and to meet with colleagues from all over the world. The programme also includes a guided tour to selected scientific institutions in Berlin and participation in the Berlin Science Award ceremony on 7 November, hosted by the Governing Mayor of Berlin. More detailed programme will follow.

MA Travel and Nature Writing, BATH SPA UNIVERSITY

  • For any writer inspired by places, people and wildlife, who wants to be published.
  • Based on actual experiences in the field, including encounters with places, people and wildlife.
  • Provides context of the history, background and genres of travel and nature writing over time.
  • Focuses on getting your writing into a wide range of media and outlets.

Do you enjoy writing about people, places and wildlife? Are you interested in environmental issues in Britain and around the world? Would you like to be published, and make a living as a travel or nature writer?

The Erice International School of Science Journalism announces 30 fellowships for applicants from European countries and 5 fellowships for applicants from non-European countries to attend the 2018 edition (June 24th – 29th, 2018) focused on “What’s Next: Challenges and Opportunities for Tomorrow’s Fundamental Physics”.

The fellowships are aimed at science journalists, science communicators and students in science journalism and communication.

The deadline for application is March 25th, 2018. Applications which should reach us after this date will not be taken into consideration. You will be informed of the acceptance/reject of your application by April 30th, 2018.

The contest year for the 2017 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards will close on 15 July. Be sure to enter your best work between 16 July 2016 and 15 July 2017. 

Thanks to an expanded endowment from The Kavli Foundation, the competition is open to professional journalists from around the world in each of the eight reporting categories. There is no entry fee. Please read the Contest Rules and Frequently Asked Questions before submitting. 

Note: If the submitted work was published or broadcast in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation. 



EurekAlert! is the ABSW's professional development partner and supports all ABSW professional development and training events.