This year’s Science Journalism Summer School takes place online on Thursday 08 July; the programme will include keynote sessions, interactive workshops, panel discussions and networking opportunities, as well as the ABSW Awards 2021 Ceremony that evening. 

Near-final timetable

09:30 Reporting from the frontline of a pandemic (60 mins)

Keynote address: Natasha Loder, health policy editor The Economist

10:40 Including diverse voices in science journalism (60 mins)

Panel discussion: Shirish Kulkarni (Decolonising the News, The Bureau of Investigative Journalism), Anjali Ramachandran (Storythings), Angela Saini (author Superior: The Return of Race Science)

12:00 Google News Initiative Tools: Fundamentals (60 mins)

Workshop: Caroline Scott, Google News Labs

12:10 How to get a job as a science journalist in the mainstream media and what to expect when you get there (60 mins)

Panel discussion: Victoria Gill (BBC), Samuel Lovett (The Independent), Madhumita Murgia (Financial Times), Alexandra Thompson (Yahoo UK)

14:00 Data journalism: using data as a source (90 mins)

Workshop: Aleszu Bajak (USA Today)

14:10 Successful freelancing (90 mins)

Panel discussion: Syriacus Buguzi, Olive Heffernan, Georgia Mills, Gayathri Vaidyanthan

15:40 How to report on pre-prints (60 mins)

Panel discussion: Serge Horbach (Aarhus University), John Inglis (Cold Spring Laboratory Press), Cassidy Sugimoto (Indiana University Bloomington)

15:50 Unlearning academic writing (60 mins)

Panel discussion: Layal Liverpool (New Scientist), Jason Palmer (The Economist), John Whitfield (Research Professional News)

16:50: Science writing beyond journalism (60 mins)

Panel discussion: Annie Brookman-Byrne (The Psychologist), Alex Lathbridge (Cancer Research UK), Katherine Nightingale (Francis Crick Institute)

17:00 Speed pitching (60 mins)

Experts: Tushna Commissariat (Physics World), Kate Douglas (New Scientist), Richard Gray (BBC), Helen Pearson (Nature), Matt Reynolds (WIRED UK), Inga Vesper (Research Professional News), Neil Withers (Chemistry World)

19:00 ABSW 2021 Awards Ceremony (70 mins)

Full programme details here

Diversity scholarships

ABSW is committed to increasing the diversity of science journalism and has set up a programme of diversity scholarships to help train more science writers from underrepresented backgrounds. 

As part of this programme we will offer fifty Science Journalism Summer School diversity scholarships. The application deadline is 23:59 Wednesday 16 June; please apply here.


Registration is now open; discounted rates available for ABSW members; find out more about joining ABSW here.

Book tickets

Ticket Cost Quantity
ABSW member £30.00
ABSW member Early Bird £25.00 Unavailable
ABSW non-member £75.00
ABSW student member £25.00
Non-member Early Bird £40.00 Unavailable
The Association of British Science Writers is registered in England and Wales under company number 07376343 at 76 Glebe Lane, Barming, Maidstone, Kent, ME16 9BD.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse