The ABSW champions independence and excellence in the reporting of science, medicine, engineering and technology. The association welcomes members who are truly looking to clearly communicate science at large but who also want to hold science and technology accountable.

During the first two months of 2024, the ABSW welcomed 49 new members. All members share the same benefits: free or discounted events, training and networking sessions, a members directory, access to scientific journals, and more.

Members can log in to our website and access members-only resources, they can update their profile and decide if they want to share it with other members or in a public directory that allows members to be contacted for a new job offer.

Join ABSW here!

Say hello to our latest members.

  • Alexander McNamara is editor-in-chief at Live Science
  • Alexandra Canet is a Science Communications Manager at Wellcome Sanger Institute
  • Andrea Wei-Ching Huang is a writer of popular science
  • Andrew Benton is a Digital Communications Coordinator at the Department of Plant Sciences at the University of Cambridge
  • Anne Marie Conlon is the chief editor of Audience & Engagement at Nature magazine
  • Ben Turner is a staff writer at Live Science
  • Bethan Leret is a writer and currently runs Optimism.Sci blog
  • Cameron Smith-Craig is a clinical science communication professional
  • Chris Manktelow writes a science substack for fun
  • Christopher Waite is exploring opportunities to develop a science writing career
  • David Stock is the head of editorial video for New Scientist
  • Esther Ojok is a biomedical science student at the University of Derby with a passion for making science accessible to general audiences
  • Gaia Vince is a science writer and broadcaster
  • Gavin Jackson is an economics and finance correspondent at The Economist who writes about the intersection of the Environment with Economics
  • Gilead Amit is a science correspondent for The Economist in London
  • Glenn Harris is a media manager at the University of Portsmouth
  • Heather Doran is the Public Engagement Manager at the Leverhulme Research Centre for Forensic Science at the University of Dundee
  • Helen Thomson is the head of features at New Scientist magazine
  • Jacob Smith is a Digital News Officer at Cancer Research UK, writing for the website and contributing to the podcast
  • James Easey works in communications at UKRI
  • Jana Bazeed is a science and research correspondent at Roar News, KCL's award-winning student publication
  • Jennifer Holshue is a Deputy Director of Editorial Operations at EurekAlert! / AAAS
  • Jennifer Riggins is a culture side of tech storyteller, journalist, writer, and event and podcast host
  • Jocalyn Clark is the International Editor of The BMJ
  • Katharine Langis a freelance medical journalist
  • Kaya Burgess is a science reporter at The Times
  • Kunal Patel is a multimedia journalist who mostly works across video and audio
  • Luca Arfini founded Creative Tractus L.A (https://www.creativetractus/) 
  • Maaria Ginai founded Mowbi to address a need in the life science sector for effective communication, both B2B and with the public
  • Michelle McGrath works in Communications & Marketing at UCL
  • Milica Momcilovic is the editor of the Science Program at the Radio Television Serbia (RTS)
  • Miriam Frankel is a senior science editor at The Conversation UK, commissioning and editing articles on a part-time basis
  • Molly Campbell is a senior science writer covering the latest breaking news and writing long-form pieces for The Scientific Observer
  • Muriel Cozier is the News Editor at SCI covering a wide range of topics everything from industry to policy to formulation science
  • Patrick Greenfield is a biodiversity and environment reporter with The Guardian newspaper
  • Peter Etchells is a Professor of Psychology and Science Communication at Bath Spa University
  • Philip Sime is a Health & Science Producer at ITV News.
  • Rebecca Coombes is the Head of Journalism at The BMJ
  • Rebecca Dawes is the Science and Tech editor for the student newspaper, Forge Press
  • Rei Takver is particularly passionate about reporting on the climate crisis and recently earned an MSc in Psychology with a specialisation in the psychology of climate change
  • Richard Marshall produces scicomm events, performs science-based comedy, runs workshops in schools, and hosts a monthly outreach event in a London pub
  • Samuel Lovett is a deputy global health editor of the Daily Telegraph
  • Sascha Pare is a trainee staff writer at Live Science
  • Satarupa Gupta is looking forward to being an active ABSW member and successfully learning the skills required to become an engaging science writer
  • Sophie McClarty has worked in science publishing, writing, and editing since 2019
  • Sophie Wedekind writes for Cancer Research UK's website and produces the podcast, That Cancer Conversation
  • Tiffany Cassidy is a journalist and audio producer, and she focuses on feature journalism and narrative podcasts
  • Tim Gunn is a senior science writer at Cancer Research UK
  • Zoe Corbyn is a freelance science journalist based in San Francisco, writing for The Guardian/Observer and BBC News website

Find a science writer!

The Association of British Science Writers is registered in England and Wales under company number 07376343 at 76 Glebe Lane, Barming, Maidstone, Kent, ME16 9BD.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse