Latest News:

Open to entry:
The European Science Writer of the Year Award is open to nominations from European science journalism/writing associations (one nominee per association) from 1 January 2018 until midnight 28 February 2018.  (See guidance below)
The winner will be announced at the ABSW Awards Ceremony Wednesday 16 May 2018, The Royal Society, London

NB: British entrant to European Science Writer of the Year.  This is now closed to entry, as this award runs in parallel with all other ABSW awards.  The ABSW Executive Board will select the British entrant from the entries received.

The Award

The ABSW is co-ordinating an award for ‘European Science Writer of the Year’ for the fourth year.   This initiative has been made possible by support from Johnson & Johnson Innovation. The award is intended to celebrate the work of a journalist or writer who promotes excellence and creativity in science, engineering, technology and mathematics (STEM) journalism and writing.   They will be recognised for entertaining and informing audiences, for inspiring new generations of journalists and writers, and for innovation in their main area of expertise. The award is limited to those who primarily work with the written word, be it features, news, or blogs, but not books. Their work may appear in print, online or both.

Each European science journalism/writing association is asked to put forward their nomination for the Award (one nominee per association).  It is entirely up to each association to determine the most appropriate way to select their nominee.   The ABSW has opened the award up to entry by individual science journalists, with ABSW’s Executive Board selecting the winner to be put forward as the British entrant to the European Award.   Entries from each national association will be judged by a specially appointed european judging panel.
The winner of the European Science Writer of the Year Award will receive a cash prize of £600 and will be invited to attend the ABSW Science Writers Awards ceremony to be held in London in May 2018.   Funds are available to cover the costs of attending the conference and ceremony.

European Science Journalism Association Nominations 

The method by which each Association chooses its nominee is entirely down to that Association.   Only one nominee may be made by each Association. When you have decided on your nomination then please make your entry via the online entry form.   You may also want to look at this form in order to ensure you gain appropriate information about potential nominees during your selection process.  A key requirement is that supporting work should have been published in the entry year which runs 1 January 2017 – 31 December 2017 and that the nominated writer must have been working in the country of the nominating national European association during the relevant competition year, 1 January 2017 – 31 December 2017. You must also seek permission from the relevant journalist/writer before making the nomination. The deadline for making your nomination is Wednesday 28 February (midnight) 2018.  

***Online entry form for European Science Journalism Association Nominations***

The ABSW Awards are a celebration of science journalism in Britain and Ireland, and are much appreciated by journalists as they are always judged and/or nominated by their peers.   The ABSW is delighted that this ethos can now be extended to our science journalism colleagues throughout Europe.

Last year's winner:

Winner of European Science Writer of the Year 2017, Hester van Santen features in showcase of award winning science writers produced for the World Conference of Science Journalists 2017


Go to top