The Association of British Science Writers is run by an annually elected committee on behalf of its members.  The ABSW also has an Honorary President, Pallab Ghosh, Science Correspondent, BBC News who was appointed at the 2017 AGM. ABSW members are allowed to attend Board meetings as observers - notification of meetings is made via our email discussion list.

  Name Area(s) of responsibility or expertise Day Job
  Mico Tatalovic  Chair (Elected 2017) Environment news editor - New Scientist
  Jack Serle Vice-Chair (Elected 2017) special area of responsiblity: social media/website Reporter - Bureau of Investigative Journalism
  Aisling Irwin Secretary (Re-Elected 2017) Freelance
  Martin  Ince         Treasurer (Elected 2017) Freelance
  Cristina Gallardo European Representative (Elected 2017) Science policy reporter, Research Fortnight
  Kata Karath General Board Member (Elected 2017) Freelance
  Andy Extance     General Board Member (Elected 2017)     Freelance
  Tim Revell         General Board Member (Elected 2017) Technology Reporter - New Scientist
  Sunny Bains     General Board Member (Elected 2017) Editorial Director, UCL Engineering Inspiration
  Sonia Van Gilder Cooke General Board Member (Elected 2017) Freelance

Emma Stoye

General Board member (Re-elected 2017) - special area of responsibility: Events Science correspondent, Chemistry World
  Wendy M. Grossman General Board member (Re-elected 2017) - special area of responsiblity: website/social media/CRA  Freelance
  Lou Del Bello Co-opted member (Co-opted 2017) Multi media editor, reporter and producer SciDev.Net
  Bob Ward Co-opted Associate Member (Co-opted 2017) Policy and Communications Director, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, LSE
  Jem Collins         Co-opted student representative (Co-opted 2017) News and Social Media Editor at RightsInfo
  Sallie Robins Committee Executive Secretary (non-committee member) Freelance


Member Login

Go to top