You are here: HomeNews and Events

News and Events

UKCSJ Dragon's Den winner wins Wellcome Trust's Science Writing Prize

The ABSW has discovered that last month, Kate Széll was judged the winner of the Wellcome Trust’s science writing prize in category B for “anyone with a non-professional interest, including undergraduates”. 
In June this year Kate successfully pitched a story idea at the UK Conference of Science Journalists Dragon’s Den session.   Kate went on to have her idea commissioned and published by Research Fortnight.  
Read Kate’s Wellcome Trust article
Read Kate’s article for Research Fortnight (p21)
Congratulations to Kate - obviously a name to watch!

The 'missed the deadline' ABSW Xmas Party

The Traditional 'Missed the Deadline' ABSW Xmas Party is set for Thursday 15 January 2015:
Thursday 15 January 2015
18:30 onwards
The Somers Town Coffee House (don't worry it is a pub)
Food/drinks/gossip ..sorry I think it's called networking these days 
An invite has been sent to all members.   If you can make it do RSVP.

Pallab Ghosh wins Science and Technology Journalist of the Year

From today's Press Gazette, news that Pallab (ABSW member and former President of the Association) was awarded Science and Technology Journalist of the Year last night:
Science and Technology Journalist of the Year (sponsored by Astellas) – Pallab Ghosh, BBC
The BBC’s Pallab Ghosh won the science and technology award for his reports exposing the failure of the Government’s badger culling programme.
The judges said: “This was one of those stories where if it wasn’t for people like Pallab the Governnent would have got away with doing what it wanted and ignoring the advice of its own scientists.
“There had been previous work where scientists had expressed concerns about the badger culls, lots of journalists were following this up. But Pallab was the only one to get hold of Defra’s own unpublished report showing that the culls were ineffective and inhumane.”
Read the full story in the Press Gazette

Mark Miodownik wins Royal Society Winton Prize for Books 2014

From the Royal Society website...
Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books
Mark Miodownik’s Stuff Matters has won the 2014 Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books.
This prestigious prize celebrates outstanding popular science books from around the world and is open to authors of science books written for a non-specialist audience.
The winner was announced at a public award event on 10 November 2014. The author of the winning book receives £25,000 and £2,500 each is awarded to the authors of the five shortlisted books.

In Conversation with Mark Walport - ABSW and Science Museum Lates Event Report

Page 1 of 130

Member Login


Advertise a job on the ABSW website and on our email list.


The 3rd UK Conference of Science Journalists will take place in London on Wed 18 June 2014. See what's in store by taking a look back at the 2nd UK Conference of Science Journalists

ABSW Awards

The winners of the 2012 ABSW Science Writers’ Awards were announced on Monday 25th June 2012.

Find a Science Writer

Looking for an expert science writer? Search our directory of members and get in contact with them directly. It couldn't be easier!

Go to top