Sponsored by Janssen Research and Development



Latest News

The 2016 Awards will open for entry on Wednesday 10 February 2016 at 09:00 and close to entries at midnight on Wednesday 16 March 2016.

There are no new Awards in 2016 but the ABSW would like to welcome new support from the Dr Katharine Giles Fund for the Dr Katharine Giles Science Blog Award and the Dr Katharine Giles Award: to support media training for scientists.  

Due to membership feedback the ABSW has changed the entry guidelines in order to enable non British journalists writing for British audiences to enter the awards.   See entry guidelines for more.

Seema Kumar, Vice President, Enterprise Innovation and Global Health Communication, Johnson & Johnson explains why Janssen Research and Development sponsor good science writing.

About the Awards

The ABSW’s science writers' awards ran continuously from 1966 to 2007, with the support of a variety of sponsors.  Over these years the awards became the "Oscars" of science writing, and served as a model for similar schemes all over the world. With support from Janssen Research and Development, the ABSW re-established the awards in 2010 and through Janssen's continued support the Awards are now secure into the future.  The Royal Society, IOP publishing and the Institute of Physics, Good Thinking, NUJ/Stephen White Bequest and Richard Gregory have also supported the Awards enabling additional categories and prize money. 

The ABSW’s awards aim to reward excellence in science journalism and writing and are judged by a panel of highly credible and respected judges.

The ABSW awards for 2016 will be presented at an evening reception at the 3rd European Conference of Science Journalists in Manchester. 

The 2016 Awards

In 2016 the following awards are open for entry (prize money is given in brackets):

The best feature (£500)

The best news item (£500)

The best scripted/edited television programme or online video (£500)

The Royal Society Radio Prize (£500) (NB: A prize for the best scripted/edited radio programme or podcast)

The best investigative journalism (£500)

The NUJ Stephen White Award for best communication and reporting of science in a non science context (£500).  

This Award is made in memory of Stephen White a highly influential science communicator who sadly died in 2010.   The Award is possible due to a donation from Stephen’s widow Elizabeth.

The best newcomer award (£200) 

The Dr Katharine Giles science blog award (£500)

The best student science blog award (£200)

The IOP student science publication award (£300 winner/£200 runner up). Sponsored by IOP Publishing and the Institute of Physics.

Lifetime achievement awards are granted in some years by the ABSW Executive Board. There is no cash prize associated with this award.

European Science Writer of the Year.  (£500)

This award is made through nominations from all European Science Journalism Associations.   Each association is asked to put forward one nominee for this Award.   The ABSW will ask its members for nominations in order to decide on the British nominee for this European Award. 

The Dr Katharine Giles Award: to support media training for scientists. 
The Dr Katharine Giles Award will enable scientists who win in either the science blog award supported by Good Thinking or the best student science blog award to undertake a one day media skills training course run by the Royal Society.  The fund will only be available for scientists who are not professional journalists, if the winner of either category is a professional journalist or writer then the fund will be offered to runners-up who meet the criteria. Winners of the awards will be contacted in order to make arrangements for them to undertake the media skills course run by the Royal Society.   There is no obligation for winners to undertake the course. 

2016 Contest Year

All entries must have been first published or broadcast between 1 January 2015 and 31 December 2015 inclusive. Awards open for entry on Wed 10 February 2016 and closed at midnight on Wed 16 March 2016.  

Entry guidelines and entry form 2016

Entry guidelines and nomination forms European Science Writer of the Year

Previous winners

Queries regarding the awards

All queries regarding the awards should be directed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

The 2011 Awards Ceremony in Photos Friday 8 July 2011 (Credit for all images: Fusion - Waterside Studio)



Member Login

Go to top