You are here: HomeAbout UsThe Committee

The Committee

The Association of British Science Writers is run by an annually elected committee on behalf of its members.  The ABSW also has an appointed Honorary President: Professor Colin Blakemore. Professor of Neuroscience and Philosophy in the School of Advanced Study, University of London and Emeritus Professor of Neuroscience at the University of Oxford, who was reappointed for a further 3 years at the 2014 AGM. 

  Name Area(s) of responsibility or expertise Day Job
  Martin Ince President (First elected 2014 AGM can only remain in post for 3 consecutive years, Re-elected 2015 AGM)  Freelance
  Victoria Parsons  Treasurer (Elected 2015 AGM)  
  Connie St Louis European Representative (Re-elected 2015 AGM) Director of City's Science Journalism MA, 
  Mico Tatalovic  Vice-President (Elected 2015 AGM)  
  Rebecca Hill  Events (Re-elected 2015 AGM) Reporter, Research Fortnight
  Katharine Sanderson Re-elected at 2015 AGM Freelance

Barbara Melville

(Co-opted as Student Member)

New member co-opted after 2014 AGM Writer in Residence at the MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine/BSc Student
  Wendy Grossman Re-elected at 2015 AGM  Freelance

Bob Ward

(Co-optd as Associate Member)

Co-opted at 2014 AGM  Policy and Communications Director, Grantham Institute LSE
  Max Bingham  Website Manager (non-committee member)  Freelance 
  Joshua Howgego Elected at 2015 AGM  Deputy News and Opinions Editor SciDev.Net


Member Login


Advertise a job on the ABSW website and on our email list.

Find a Science Writer

Looking for an expert science writer? Search our directory of members and get in contact with them directly. It couldn't be easier!

Go to top